PDA

View Full Version : Webpage Legitamacy



gr455h0pp3r
06-07-2005, 08:52
Is this site http://www.aikidoaus.com.au/dojo/docs/training.htm legit ?

Dennis Monk
06-07-2005, 09:02
I couldn't say if they were legit or not. the small font writing against a gray back drop makes it almost impossible for me to read anything. (This is after actually going into the linked sections)

JessePasley
06-07-2005, 09:16
Finally, I understand. (http://www.aikidoaus.com.au/dojo/images/chart2.gif)

Or wait, no, I don't.

Musubi Dojo
06-07-2005, 09:21
Iwama is a well know style of Aikido.

I'm not student of Aikido History, so I can't vouch for lineage.
Nothing screams "fake" to me here though.

The Iwama guys I trained with were a harder, more direct style, more irimi, less tenkan. That could have just been the individual instructor though.

cheers
c

David Anderson
06-07-2005, 16:50
I recognise one of the instructors' names as longtime member of E-budo, FWIW.

I'll also mention that it would be very peculiar for an 'illegit' dojo to claim a relationship with a high-profile sensei and well-known style. I would have no qualms about this group being okay. If you are looking to do Aikido, this would be a fine place to start.

Peter Rehse
06-07-2005, 18:48
Looks OK to me.

don
06-07-2005, 18:57
I recognise one of the instructors' names as longtime member of E-budo, FWIW.

I'll also mention that it would be very peculiar for an 'illegit' dojo to claim a relationship with a high-profile sensei and well-known style. I would have no qualms about this group being okay. If you are looking to do Aikido, this would be a fine place to start.

Not having trained with them, I'd still agree. One of the instructors, Jason Wotherspoon, is a frequent poster on aikido boards and seems knowledgeable.

tonysoprano
07-21-2005, 10:36
Yes its legit, why would you think otherwise/
the head teacher is Takayasu Sensei. head of iwama aikido in Oz, Iwama is the birth place of aikido, and the founders home. not that many peopel ahave been aware of it because its so different to mainsteam aikido.
but its very legit, i promise.
all the articles are very good, alot are what comes from what the founder taught in Iwama

Aikido_Girl918
08-13-2005, 22:27
As tonysoprano said, Iwama is the birthplace of Aikido, and Ushieba Morihei's home, so, going by that and what was said on the page, I am going to say legit. I could see where anyone who hasn't read the basic history of Aikido would think otherwise. I would question Aiki Tora Ryu Aikido, but being a student in this art, knowing a bit about the founder, and knowing that it is easily used in the streets with hardly any modifications, I see no need to.