PDA

View Full Version : Tomasz Pawel Nowak at it again



David Craik
09-20-2004, 17:13
Recently I received the following, sent to an e-mail address that I only have listed at E-Budo.com and here:


Dear Sir,

I have a Japanese sword (katana) with the XVIII century blade and I would
like to sell it for the fee of 400$. I have the papers which shows I am a
holder of the sword. If you think you could have any interest in such
antique item please let me know.

Kind regards,
Tomasz Nowak

This guy has been running this game for literally years now, offering various antiques to the unwitting, and has spammed sword boards on numerous occasions, offering a sword "with the XVIII century blade". If you receive such an email, from a Tomas Nowak, Tomasz Pawel Nowak, or some variation...I would highly suggest NOT taking him up on his offer:

http://www.warsailors.com/phorum/read.php?f=1&i=8301&t=8301

http://www.bc-alter.net/dfriesen/wwwboard/messages/654.html

http://www.treasurenet.com/forum/treasurehunting/messages/1010877.shtml

Webmaster
09-20-2004, 19:51
Yep, this guy is pretty shady. The Buyer Beware (http://www.budoseek.net/vbulletin/announcement.php?f=38) announcement is in direct reference to this person. Apparently, he made a post here, and one of our members fell for it.

If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is!

David Craik
09-21-2004, 11:10
Yeah, I noticed that he had been banned here. He is widely regarded as a fraud in the sword community, but it seems there are always those who have not heard of him yet, and fall for his offers.

It astonishes me that he is still operating, as he has been reported to the Polish authorities several times. Perhaps they don't care. Needless to say my reply to his e-mail wasn't very friendly.

Erik
09-21-2004, 17:56
Is there any way to send the police after him?

Or anyone who commits internet fraud?

David Craik
09-21-2004, 19:27
Internet fraud can be reported via the FBI's website at http://www.ifccfbi.gov/index.asp

Unless you have actually been taken though, it is difficult to prove. Also he's in Poland, so likely nothing will happen, much like with the Nigerian 419 scammers. Seems the best thing we can do is just to get the word out to as many folks as possible.

Apparently one can contact the marshall in his Pawel's hometown at:

urzad@malopolska.mw.gov.pl
Fax 012-430-03-94
phone 012-61-60-144

Anyone speak Polish? :D

By the way, Nowak used to use the e-mail Tomasnowak@hotmail.com but now appears to be using Treasure_Diving@hotmail.com
Watch those inboxes...

Gunyo Kogusoku
09-21-2004, 21:24
I keep getting e-mail from the little bugger too. :mad:

Erik
09-22-2004, 12:56
I work with a Polish guy. If you need some (short) translation, I can arrange it.

My colleague would also find this Nowak guy's scams amusing.