Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Moderator Emeritus David Craik's Avatar
    Name
    David Craik
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Martial Art
    Sweatin' to the Oldies
    Age
    44
    Posts
    8,701
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Angry Tomasz Pawel Nowak at it again

    Recently I received the following, sent to an e-mail address that I only have listed at E-Budo.com and here:

    Dear Sir,

    I have a Japanese sword (katana) with the XVIII century blade and I would
    like to sell it for the fee of 400$. I have the papers which shows I am a
    holder of the sword. If you think you could have any interest in such
    antique item please let me know.

    Kind regards,
    Tomasz Nowak
    This guy has been running this game for literally years now, offering various antiques to the unwitting, and has spammed sword boards on numerous occasions, offering a sword "with the XVIII century blade". If you receive such an email, from a Tomas Nowak, Tomasz Pawel Nowak, or some variation...I would highly suggest NOT taking him up on his offer:

    http://www.warsailors.com/phorum/rea...&i=8301&t=8301

    http://www.bc-alter.net/dfriesen/www...sages/654.html

    http://www.treasurenet.com/forum/tre.../1010877.shtml
    Last edited by David Craik; 09-20-2004 at 17:18.

  2. #2
    Administrator and Benevolent Dictator Webmaster's Avatar
    Name
    Robert Carver
    Join Date
    Nov 1997
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Martial Art
    Jujutsu, Judo, Shorinryu Karatedo
    Age
    51
    Posts
    10,458
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    Yep, this guy is pretty shady. The Buyer Beware announcement is in direct reference to this person. Apparently, he made a post here, and one of our members fell for it.

    If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is!
    Robert M. Carver
    Administrator, Benevolent Dictator & Bodhisattva
    BudoSeek! Martial Arts Community

    "A man with a gun is a citizen. A man without a gun is a subject."

    "A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have." Gerald Ford in a Presidential address to a joint session of Congress (12 August 1974)

    “It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather, we should thank God that such men lived.” Gen. George S. Patton Jr.

  3. #3
    Moderator Emeritus David Craik's Avatar
    Name
    David Craik
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Martial Art
    Sweatin' to the Oldies
    Age
    44
    Posts
    8,701
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yeah, I noticed that he had been banned here. He is widely regarded as a fraud in the sword community, but it seems there are always those who have not heard of him yet, and fall for his offers.

    It astonishes me that he is still operating, as he has been reported to the Polish authorities several times. Perhaps they don't care. Needless to say my reply to his e-mail wasn't very friendly.

  4. #4
    Moderator Erik's Avatar
    Name
    Erik Michaels
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    East Bay (CA)
    Martial Art
    The older I get, the tougher I was.
    Age
    40
    Posts
    7,029
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Is there any way to send the police after him?

    Or anyone who commits internet fraud?
    I realize you think you understand what you thought I said, but what I am not so sure about is whether what you think you heard is what I think I meant.

  5. #5
    Moderator Emeritus David Craik's Avatar
    Name
    David Craik
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Martial Art
    Sweatin' to the Oldies
    Age
    44
    Posts
    8,701
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Internet fraud can be reported via the FBI's website at http://www.ifccfbi.gov/index.asp

    Unless you have actually been taken though, it is difficult to prove. Also he's in Poland, so likely nothing will happen, much like with the Nigerian 419 scammers. Seems the best thing we can do is just to get the word out to as many folks as possible.

    Apparently one can contact the marshall in his Pawel's hometown at:

    urzad@malopolska.mw.gov.pl
    Fax 012-430-03-94
    phone 012-61-60-144

    Anyone speak Polish?

    By the way, Nowak used to use the e-mail Tomasnowak@hotmail.com but now appears to be using Treasure_Diving@hotmail.com
    Watch those inboxes...

  6. #6
    Member Gunyo Kogusoku's Avatar
    Name
    Stephen Delaney
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, London / Souka-shi, Saitama-Ken, Japan
    Martial Art
    古流ビール術、乾杯!
    Age
    36
    Posts
    366
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I keep getting e-mail from the little bugger too.
    Regards,

    Steve Delaney

    "Never give in, never give in, never, never, never, never, in nothing, great or small, large or petty, never give in except to convictions of honor and good sense. " - Winston Churchill

  7. #7
    Moderator Erik's Avatar
    Name
    Erik Michaels
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    East Bay (CA)
    Martial Art
    The older I get, the tougher I was.
    Age
    40
    Posts
    7,029
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I work with a Polish guy. If you need some (short) translation, I can arrange it.

    My colleague would also find this Nowak guy's scams amusing.
    I realize you think you understand what you thought I said, but what I am not so sure about is whether what you think you heard is what I think I meant.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •